One before, one after




More MIDI
Wednesday, Nov. 15, 2006
I really like light grey trays in jewel cases.

A couple weeks ago (?), I realized that there are 128 GM instruments... AND all of the percussion/drum instruments. I'll probably have to make a supplementary album of one song for every GM percussion instrument.

And, actually, I like that concept almost more than the GM instrument album.

A song/composition using only bass drum... using only closed high hat... using only high bongo... you get the idea.

An interesting note on MIDI from the MIDI Manufacturer's Association:

"General MIDI's most recognized feature is the defined list of sounds or "patches". However, General MIDI does not actually define the way the sound will be reproduced, only the name of that sound.

Though this can obviously result in wide variations in performance from the same song data on different GM sound sources, the authors of General MIDI felt it important to allow each manufacturer to have their own ideas and express their personal aesthetics when it comes to picking the exact timbres for each sound."

And to that end, once I complete the MIDI album, I would like to have various editions as ran through different GM sets/keyboards/DOS FM editors (ha!) and, at one point, release a greatest hits which has the best/most interesting representation of each instrument.

Last 5 entries
-
-
Recharge
Ultimate solution
Ye olde sleep

Guestbook
All entries
http://www.anotherunknowntime.com
(One of) my old webpages
http://del.icio.us/cosmic
Livejournal
My profile
http://www.diaryland.com