One before, one after




Multimedia gulch
Wednesday, Apr. 12, 2006
quotes from Microserfs (yay, due back Thursday):

page 29.
"Todd was obsessively folding his shirts in his room."

page 73.
"Just as I thought. People who do repetitive work on keyboards tend to hand highly erogenous forearms and shoulder cuffs."

page 74.
"I remember being young, in school, and being told that our bodies would yield enough carbon for 2,000 pencils and enough calcium for 30 sticks of chalk, as well as enough iron for one nail."

page 80.
"The day they introduced Crystal Pepsi, I harassed the local Safeway manager almost daily until it arrived. I thought this new Pepsi was going to be like regular Pepsi, except minus the plutonium stuff that turns it brown. Then I tasted it--it was like 7-Up and Dr. Pepper and Pepsi and tap water all sort of randomly mixed and decolorized. Downer!"

page 81.
"The past is a finite resource."

page 82.
long quote about Lego

"Cape Cod houses digitized through the Hard Copy TV lens that pixelates the victim's face into little squares of color."

page 92.
"Our bodies are essentially diskettes."

page 101.
"There's just so much I want to forget, Dan. I thought I was going to be a READ ONLY file. I never thought I'd be ... interactive."

page 124.
"Susan noted tonight that the computers in Billy's office [Melrose Place] aren't connected to, or plugged into, anything. But this just made the show even better."

page 125.
"Todd chugged Snapples. He calls them 'Workahol.'"

page 134.
"I stared at an entire screen full of these words and they dissolved and lost their meaning, the way words do when you repeat them over and over--the way anything loses meaning when context is removed--the way we can quickly enter the world of the immaterial using the simplest of devices, like multiplication."

page 146.
"Actually when you think about it, *everything* can be a metaphor for *anything*.

To quote YOU, Daniel: "I mean, If you realy think about it.""

[Man, I hate quoting quotes.]

page 150.
"unraveled brown
cassette tape
on the freeway"

page 159.
"Autism's a good way of focusing out the world to exclude everything but the work at hand."

page 166.
"Q: What animal would you be if you could be an animal?
A: You already are an animal"

page 173 bottom-page 174 top.

page 183.
"Do you think humanoids--people--will ever design a machine that can pray? Do we pray to machines or through them? How do we use machines to achieve our deepest needs?""

page 186-187.
"How do we know that all of these people with "no lives" aren't really on the new frontier of human sentience and perceptions?"

page 189.
"the average human body contains 1 x 10^13 cells, yet hosts 1 x 10^14 bacterial cells."

page 193.
"Feeling like you're somewhere must be bad for ideas."

page 196.
"Newton Guy 2: ... And you'll never believe this--I was late for a flight the other day, and when the woman at the United counter pulled up my record, I looked at the monitor and my name was surrounded by DOLLAR SIGNS. How subtextual."

page 205.
"If you know a lot about the world, that knowledge makes itself plain on your face."

page 207.
""Screensavers are the macrame of the '90s," Susan boldly exclaimed."

page 208.
"Handmade presents are scary because they reveal that you have too much free time."

page 208.
"Copy of Quicken, the oddly religious personal/financial software program that has no option for roommates or other non-Cold War era sex/space-sharing alliances."

page 209.
"diet Cokes, Hostess products, blank video tapes, and batteries!" [stocking gifts]

page 210.
yet another mention of the Habitrail

page 216.
aerogel mention

page 236.
"Susan caught a cold, "From having my panties systematically saturated with fruit pulp at the Tonga Room.""

page 236.
"It's such a relief when your friends date cool people."

page 239.
"I fell and cut myself on some of Mom's rosebushes, and I know it's corny, but I got to thinking, it's no surprise roses are the Official Flower of Love."

page 242.
"eats bricks like crazy"

page 245.
"Ethan seems to have forgotten his partially completed freeway. We've nicknamed it the "Information Superhighway.""

page 252.
"Bug was so mad that he wanted to write a Marburg virus and stick it in Michael's machine."

page 253/254.

page 257.
It must be bizarre being fabulously good looking. I mean, at least you can disguise brains."

page 261.
"Just think--we're rapidly approaching a world composed entirely of jail and shopping."

"It turns out that if you tape TV shows that are close-captioned, you CAN have English language subtitles. Our entertainment universe has multiplied itself!"

page 280.
"and drove into the flower-scented, gasoline-powered California night."

page 285.
"Dream date!"

page 285/286.
"It started out simply enough, with all of us discussing the way that food products in recent years have been cloning themselves out into eighteen versions of themselves. For example, old Coke, new Coke, diet Coke, old Coke without caffiene, new Coke without caffiene, Coke with pulpy bits, Coke with cheese.... Then things went out of control."

page 289.
"And whenever you see no windows, there's something scary of beguiling going on inside. No humans.... Needless to say, there were FUCK OFF AND DIE warning signs from the Department of Energy bolding onto the wire fencing around the accelerator's perimeter."

page 314.
"Michael mixed Robitussin with his Calistoga water. We asked him if the drink had a name and he said, "I hereby christen this drink 'the Justine Bateman' after the lovely and talented sister character, Mallory, of TV's beloved mid-eighties sitcom, Family Ties.""

page 327.
"Ethan said randomness is a useful shorthand for describing a pattern that's bigger than anything we can hold in our minds. "Letting go of randomness is one of the hardest decisions a person can make.""

page 332.
"Dan, you're gonna think I'm an asshole, but I had a dream, and I knew that's what he looked like. I put a diskette under my pillow for weeks waiting for a sign, and it came to me, and here he is."

page 354.
"It was strange to realize that, in one sense, all we are is our voice."

page 359.
""And ... what then--when the entire memory of the species is as cheap and easily available as pebbles at the beach?"
She said that this is not a frightening question. "It is a question full of awe and wonder and respect. And people being people, they will probably, I imagine, use these new memory pebbles to build new paths."
Like I said ... it was romantic."

page 369.
"MY DOTTR"

Last 5 entries
-
-
Recharge
Ultimate solution
Ye olde sleep

Guestbook
All entries
http://www.anotherunknowntime.com
(One of) my old webpages
http://del.icio.us/cosmic
Livejournal
My profile
http://www.diaryland.com