One before, one after




Big art show
Monday, May. 16, 2005
Ha, ehhh. Student Affairs (which my department is under) is having an art show, and I told them I made art. When they repeatedly asked what, I eventually said everything, you know, painting, sculpture, etc.

So I made a painting using a stencil and orange spray paint of a spilled Coke can. And I made a tower of Duplo blocks acsending in color like a rainbow. And was like, these are cool.

But I was humbled a bit when the coordinator came by to get my stuff, and I was like here it is, and I was proud, but her face was like, what is this, even though she was nice about it.

And then I was like, oh, yeah, people are going to think this is crappy or too high or conceptual art for them. Whatever, although it makes me feel bad in a way, like I'm about to offend all these people who put so much time and effort into their work. Like my work didn't take years to come to fruition, which it did.

Anyway, while walking to work, it occured to me that the two things actually had a kind of coherent theme: the last 50 years in art. Here's my checklist:

60's: pop art (Coke can)
70's: graffiti (orange spray paint)
80's: pixels (the Duplo blocks)
90's: kind of minimalist, awkward installations
00's: the use of rainbow

Funny.

If you want to see this stuff, the art show is next week in that Student Center gallery. And to think, I've always wanted to show something there, and now, by the most subversive means, almost, I will. And no one will see it. Hahahahahaha. But, I'll post about it on message boards nevertheless.

Last 5 entries
-
-
Recharge
Ultimate solution
Ye olde sleep

Guestbook
All entries
http://www.anotherunknowntime.com
(One of) my old webpages
http://del.icio.us/cosmic
Livejournal
My profile
http://www.diaryland.com