One before, one after




Pizza guitar
Thursday, Mar. 17, 2005
"My Theory of Learning a Musical Instrument
The deal with the lute, guitar or any instrument as far as I am concerned is easy. I subscribe to the "eating pizza" method. No one has to persuade someone to eat pizza (or whatever their favorite food is, pizza is just convenient for this analogy). They don't have to define it, analyze it, think about if they are eating it correctly, or take it too seriously. It's fun, it makes you feel good and people look forward to doing it. That is what playing an instrument is about. Find a teacher that wants you to have fun. Reject anyone that wants you to take it seriously. Don't be any more concerned about it than you would about watching a football game. If you learn a tune and don't like the way you play it, learn it again. Make playing as pleasurable as you can, don't bother with exercises. If you doubt that it can be done, buy my disc. :-) I'm nothing special. Anyone can do it, just like anyone can learn how to be a geek. It's only the fear of it that ruins it for people. Now if you disagree with me, write a letter to your congressman, to the lute list or post something on the guitar newsgroups, don't write to me because I'm too busy having a good time to respond."

I would really like to play another game of video basketball with Adam.

Last 5 entries
-
-
Recharge
Ultimate solution
Ye olde sleep

Guestbook
All entries
http://www.anotherunknowntime.com
(One of) my old webpages
http://del.icio.us/cosmic
Livejournal
My profile
http://www.diaryland.com