One before, one after




Realization
Friday, Aug. 27, 2004
The Internet is pointless if you can't have fun in real life immediately surrounding it.

I just ate more fried chicken and read the car section of the paper. Also, I doubt anyone is ever trying to call me, but I am online all night because my family goes to bed at 9 PM and I can't turn my modem sound off because of having the wrong drivers, so once I log on slightly before 9, I'd better stay on just in case I really want to look something up anytime later before I go to bed.

I looked up most of my high school on Friendster last night. It's funny who I found on there, because they all fit a profile.

Beverly Ng, Yujin Chon, Kim Foster, William Fulmer, Sara Holton, Kelly Lawler, Thailan Pham, Frantz Pierre, Frank Snyder, and Elizabeth Wilkin.

I was not very close to any of these people, but I did spend a lot of time in their vicinity.

High school for me was about being in the vicinity. I was like a cracked marble being shot into a pinball game. Anyways, enough weird reflections on my youth.

Beverly was in Independent Study Art when I was in my drifter period. That was after the car wreck and most of my classes disappeared to make it easy on me. She sat at the girl table in between me and Mrs. Cronon.

Yujin was totally cool, and I never knew much about her, but she was a chill explosion.

Kim knew me since elementary school, and we shared some kind of unspoken historic bond. I also never knew much about her, but she always seemed particularly solid and introspective.

William was a rock dude who seemed to have aspirations to make it big, be cool, and get married or at least be a solid boyfriend. I have a tape of him playing guitar with a super band of me, Jeff Barrows, Ryan, Matthew, and Paulo Ramirez. He usually busted out Smashing Pumpkins or Red Hot Chili Peppers, but that was quickly sucked down by the noise of the rest of us. Jeff's gigantic drum set sounds like a horn section because of the low quality of the tape.

Sara seemed to have an affinity for me in some innuendic sense. I think she was curious about what was going on, but honestly, I didn't even know what was going out. Maybe that is what fizzled our encounters.

Kelly wore big sweaters sometimes.

Thailan was my lab partner and tried to hook me up with Payton which was great. She was/is really into guys and parties. I think she was the person I most talked to who I didn't talk to ourside of school, so we had a cool rapport.

Frantz was interesting. I was totally wacked out when I saw him on Friendster. Weird! He was in numerous classes with me and was a kind of funky nerd.

Frank was hilarious at times, but I don't know if he ever noticed me. He was cool but had an established posse. I never had much success integrating into the Peachtree Corners-esque gifted/nerd group but then never had much success with the Norcross (Buford Highway/Beaver Ruin) badass/gifted assemblage/intersection. Frank played Snake on his TI calculator. I think the whole table he sat at networked them and played 4 on 4.

Elizabeth once invited me to a show she was playing at the something Lizard in Marietta or somewhere like that. Matt's parents dropped us off there from the Aerostar and had quite a memorable night. That is a whole other entry. But, it turned out that Elizabeth only played minimal rhythm guitar or tamborine for her boyfriend's band. And her boyfriend was a real pro future singer/songwriter, so you know how that goes.

I also found Brandon Fox's email address. Apparently, he goes to Mercer over in Macon.

In a house of absolute silence, I wonder how my Athens crew is holding up tonight.

Last 5 entries
-
-
Recharge
Ultimate solution
Ye olde sleep

Guestbook
All entries
http://www.anotherunknowntime.com
(One of) my old webpages
http://del.icio.us/cosmic
Livejournal
My profile
http://www.diaryland.com