One before, one after




4th Crunchifus show
Saturday, December 14, 2002
The electronic music night was great tonight. It was bad and good to both extremes, and I think quite a few people appreciated that. Somewhere between 40 to 50 people attended in all, maybe more. The store was always full though, of new faces nonetheless!

Somewhere between 10 and 12 music entities played, and Crunchifus played 8th I think. While Brian and Steve were playing, a man dressed in all camoflage yelled "Do you speak English?" He wondered if anyone would be singing tonight, since most groups, all groups in fact, at the electronic music night seem to never sing. He was a great guy. He sings along to whatever music inspires him too, and his songs are usually about love and living free by enjoying life. Even though he is mild mannered and positive, most people were nervous about him since he is so eccentric. So, I asked him if he would sing for Crunchifus, and he said he might. Later, I told him what our plans were and he said that he'd come up to sing whenever he got a feel for our music.

Well, he got the feel real quick, right by the first noise of me plugging in the bass through the record player preamp thing that acts like a tight distortion. Before this, I introduced us as Crunchifus and said that Don would be joining us tonight as a singer.

Javier began playing this reverb box that he has, which makes big echo sounds when he hits it. It is an old piece of stereo equipment, and he ran in through a multi-effects pedal which he had an expression pedal hooked up to so he could control the sustain like the sustain pedals on a piano. Underneath this, he had a small kick drum, and to his right and left, he had two guitars laid on chairs to play percussively with drumsticks. I had the lids of various size pots, and planned to hit the rims of them with a drumstick, and they make various bell-like sounds. I planned to play the distorted bass when I was not hitting the lids.

To make a long story short, our music was through the roof. It was almost out-of-control, except Don, Javier, and me had a stellar vibe. It was a fuzz, crash, wail, and heartfelt song flurry.

Our plan for the night was that if things went bad, or we felt like what we playing wasn't good or we felt awkward, then we should go that much more intense into what we were playing rather than stop cold in embarrassment. It really worked for us in the best way possible.

We had a cool video playing behind us too that we made mostly this morning. It had, in this order, clips of NBA Jam for Super Nintendo, clips of Jeopardy for Super Nintendo, Javier and me running through a big field, Javier and me talking about our new record with word bubbles, us setting that record and CD on fire and then hitting it with a frying pan and pipe, us showering together, the Apple II snowflake changing colors animation I made for the window, scenes from a Super Nintendo baseball game, and the opening sequence for the computer game Out of This World. Dave helped us tape it, and he was a big help.

I liked the other groups too and could write lots about them, but I dumbfounded by the whole experience and my thumb has a big blister on it from bass thump, so I am going to stop typing and drink some water.

Last 5 entries
-
-
Recharge
Ultimate solution
Ye olde sleep

Guestbook
All entries
http://www.anotherunknowntime.com
(One of) my old webpages
http://del.icio.us/cosmic
Livejournal
My profile
http://www.diaryland.com